Sports: I sure do love ’em.

11 Aug

So… the Olympics. I keep watching them because I’m sure something amazing is going to happen, but I’m from the perpetually unimpressed MTV generation, so it never does. Michael Phelps, a fellow MTV generationiere, just won another gold medal/broke another record for swimming, and even he doesn’t seem that excited. How am I supposed to care if you don’t care, Phelps?! He’s literally doing STRETCHES on the podium. Seriously, Phelps?

If you haven’t been watching the Olympics, here is all you’re missing:

X. That “DUNNN DUNNNN de dun Dun DUN dun DUN DUN de DUUN DUNN de DUNN de DU DUNN DUNT DUUNNNT” theme over and over and over again.

X. This scary Coca Cola ad…

X. Tiny underage Chinese gymnasts

X. Phelps’ relay cohort Cullen Jones. How cute is Cullen Jones?!

I can’t wait until this is over so I can go back to not feigning to care about sports for another couple of years. Yeesh.

3 Responses to “Sports: I sure do love ’em.”

  1. Eli August 12, 2008 at 11:10 pm #

    Okay, so I just found out, after a long hilarious day on set that I, a kid from Denver Colorado, beat an Olympic gold medalist at her own sport*. Now, yes, she was a lot younger, and was just starting out, and yes I was twice her size. Hmm, well, putting it like that makes me feel not quite as proud, wait, not it doesn’t… I FUCKING BEAT AN OLYMPIC GOLD MEDALIST!!!!

    *Becca Ward in Fencing

  2. regretabletypo August 13, 2008 at 10:00 am #

    Think about your failed potential! YOU could be an Olympian! I think you should feel terrible about yourself, quitter.

  3. Eli August 13, 2008 at 3:01 pm #

    Well, its never too late. That was what you should say, you are a real downer. Period… and have horrible telephone skills. (-;

Leave a Reply

