Here is something I can’t actually show you… but it’s a good something! You’re just going to have to take my word for it.

3 Sep

 

I recently watched a wonderful short film by Toby MacDonald called Je t’aime John Wayne on the Cinema 16: European Short Films DVD (incidentally, Rabbit was on there too – it’s a great collection). The black and white short is an homage to French New Wave (which caters precisely to my predictable taste) featuring an English chap trying to act like Belmondo in Breathless, which is doubly funny since Belmondo was a Frenchman trying to act like an American. I would love to share it with you, but it’s unfortunately nowhere to be found on the internets. All I can offer you is the Cinema 16  trailer to give you a taste:

Martin McDonagh of In Bruges fame has a priceless short in the collection, too, as does Jan Svankmajer. Netflix it, quick! It says it’s a very long wait, but I believe it will be worth it.

2 Responses to “Here is something I can’t actually show you… but it’s a good something! You’re just going to have to take my word for it.”

  1. Eli September 4, 2008 at 12:57 am #

    A very long wait is just too long to wait. Just too long. I want your take on the new delivery site. call me tomorrow if you have a chance (and if you don’t mind).

  2. emma September 5, 2008 at 12:10 pm #

    hey I wanna see this film could you send me it or something where can i buy it?

    emma.mcfly@gmail.com
    thank you so much

Leave a Reply

