This music video is almost certainly better than the film Once. I’m guessing. Maybe.

4 Sep

I have an issue with something that, for the blogopolis’ sake, I’m going to deem Unintentional Over-Hyped Media Avoidance. When I hear too many recommendations for something, instead of rushing out and seeing/reading/listening to it, my interest levels crash and I instead avoid it like the Candy & Rainbows Plague. I may even make an attempt to be into it – see my enormous Netflix queue or all of my Limewire downloads with nary a listen for reference – but I just can’t do it. Inexplicable UOMA paralysis hits. 

Once is a recent UOMA victim, suffering silently next to the television in its Netflix package for literally months until my roommate finally returned it (she said it wasn’t good anyway – take that, hype machine!). I’m not sure how such a thing could happen, especially when a DVD is sitting literally feet from me, thus practically eliminating laziness as an excuse. Maybe it’s just my fear that said thing will never live up to the buzz and I’ll have to be disappointed in all mankind (cough Juno cough cough). Or maybe some days one just doesn’t feel like watching an Indie Irish Songie Love Story. Or some years, for that matter. This is just one of those years. Get off my back about Once, recommendations people! Yeesh.

Literally zillions of things fall into UOMA oblivion. The SopranosMad Men, Cormac McCarthy’s The Road, the new (new to me, ha ha!) Radiohead (oops)… Which brings me to my point.  I’ve been hearing good things about the band Wild Beasts for awhile now, but because of UOMA, I’ve been doing nothing about it. They’re in good company! At least I think so – I don’t really personally know. Anyway, The Denver Egotist posted the video for their song  “Brave Bulging Buoyant Clairvoyants,” and they have captured my attention. Great song, inventive video, etc. Stupid UOMA stopping me from enjoying things. Stupid things being good and people knowing about their goodness. Oh well, just watch this good thing. Or don’t, fellow UOMAer. I probably wouldn’t either.

2 Responses to “This music video is almost certainly better than the film Once. I’m guessing. Maybe.”

  1. Eli September 6, 2008 at 9:20 pm #

    Once sucked, almost as bad as Vin Diesel’s ending for his new abomination, but you know what doesn’t, Trainspotting. Which is on right now.

  2. bean September 8, 2008 at 3:27 pm #

    You really should watch Mad Men. It’s my favorite new show by far. Maybe I’ll Netflix it, bring it over and force you. Would that work? By the way, Once was the only movie I ever went to see by myself. I keep telling people I loved it (i.e. Teague’s mom, Calum’s mom and Ernesto) They just seemed to want me to love it so badly that if I said anything otherwise their opinion of me would have lessened greatly. All in all though it was pretty freaking cheesy, even for me. And that my friend is a lot of cheese.

Leave a Reply

