Craft Attack! Sort of. Actually, please don’t.

12 Sep

I will tell you that I don’t like any aspect of dead animals. They’re depressing, they smell, and they usually come along with some sort of moral issue (huntin’, meat eatin’, road killin’, medical testin’, etc.) that must be addressed… But then if you happen to stuff the aforementioned dead animal and turn it into something wonderful and maybe hilarious, I will tell you that dead animals are the best.

Case in point, Chuffy the mouse. Driving his time machine. Which happens to be a guinea pig. Wow. Big spenders with creepy houses can find it at Top Hat Taxidermy. Or why not try and make one yourself? (Don’t try and make one yourself.) Via BoingBoing.

Because you can never get enough of taxidermy (you can very easily get enough of taxidermy), here is the video for George Harrison’s “Got My Mind Set On You.” And I know I’ve posted this in other blog incarnates, but nothing rivals it in terms of the best possible use of taxidermied rodents on film:

George Harrison is clearly the best Beatle.

3 Responses to “Craft Attack! Sort of. Actually, please don’t.”

  1. Eli September 13, 2008 at 1:03 pm #

    This was my number one favorite video as a kid. I still love it. And what a great song. AND you know there is always the possibility of fake dead animals, which I am almost sure they used for most of this video. Just to clarify. As for making guinea pigs into art I am ALL FOR IT. Morgan and I had a closet full of dead animals we found that we intended to make into art. ACTUALLY Morgan and I have an ongoing deal that whichever of us dies first the other gets to make into a fucked up sort of body world art. You are not your body.

  2. Laura September 18, 2008 at 7:03 pm #

    Holy crap. I freakin’ loved that song as a kid and naturally didn’t make the connection that the man was once a Beatle. My mind is blown.

    PS: Your blog (which I found via facebook-stalking) is awesome.

    PPS: Hi.

  3. regretabletypo September 30, 2008 at 10:28 pm #

    Hi Laura! I think the fact that he was a Beatle makes every aspect of the video/song a little bit better. Thank you for stalking my blog! I’m trying to write in it more regularly again, so keep reading it, oks?

Leave a Reply

